+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Feature to kml

  1. #1
    Fawna Nibert
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    21
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Feature to kml

    I have all my data in a feature class and want to use a model to convert it into a kml, is there a way to do this? So far see the tool for, save to layer file, and layer to kml. but I get errors when trying to use them straight off of my feature class. I have 9.3.1

  2. #2
    Jakub Sisak
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    466
    Points
    19
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Default Re: Feature to kml

    Layer to KML should work fine. What is the error you are getting?

    Jakub Sisak, GISP
    GIS StackExchange

    JAKUB SISAK photography
    To see my photography please visit:
    facebook | fine art america | 500px | Flickr


  3. #3
    Fawna Nibert
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    21
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Feature to kml

    This is when in the model I try to connect the Feature class to, Save to Layer File Tool:
    The feature class value __ does not meet the input requirements for any of the parameters for the save to layer file tool.
    Input Layer: ERROR 000840: The value is not a Layer

    This is when the model I try to connect the Feature class to , Layer To KML Tool:
    All possible input parameters already have a value.
    Layer: ERROR 000840: The value is not a Layer.
    Layer Output Scale: ERROR 000840: The value is not a Boolean.
    Extent to Export: Already has value.
    Size of returned image (pixels): ERROR 000840: The value is not a Long.
    DPI of output image: Error 000840: the value is not a Long.


    I have tried to look up the ERROR 000840 but I have not get anywhere

  4. #4
    Jakub Sisak
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    466
    Points
    19
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Default Re: Feature to kml

    The input must be a layer. See below thread for similar discussion:

    http://forums.arcgis.com/threads/573...le-with-Python

    "Layer To KML - This tool converts an in-memory or file-based feature or raster layer into a KML file containing a translation of ESRI geometries and symbology."

    You can either use a layer in the TOC or a layer saved as a layer file.

    Jakub Sisak, GISP
    GIS StackExchange

    JAKUB SISAK photography
    To see my photography please visit:
    facebook | fine art america | 500px | Flickr


  5. #5
    Fawna Nibert
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    21
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Feature to kml

    I have figured out how to create a feature class to a KML, you must convert the feature class to a feature layer, then layer to KML. but now I lost my information that was in the Feature. Any ideals

  6. #6
    Jakub Sisak
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    466
    Points
    19
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Default Re: Feature to kml

    Quote Originally Posted by fawna001 View Post
    I have figured out how to create a feature class to a KML, you must convert the feature class to a feature layer, then layer to KML. but now I lost my information that was in the Feature. Any ideals
    All you should have to do is to add a feature class to ArcMap then drag the layer to the tool (or use the drop-down to select it) No conversion necessary; Geodatabase feature class added to ArcMap is a feature layer.

    Jakub Sisak, GISP
    GIS StackExchange

    JAKUB SISAK photography
    To see my photography please visit:
    facebook | fine art america | 500px | Flickr


+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts