+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

  1. #1
    Joshua Coates
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    148
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

    Can anyone explain why it is that I cannot view my application outside of the local intranet? I have some flex apps that are setup on a local public server with several apps on it. All of the .NET apps can be viewed outside the intranet and the data all appears fine. When I try going to one of the Flex apps from outside the intranet, I am able to see the UI and all of the widgets open fine, however, none of the map and data are displayed?! Does anyone know why this is?

    Also, if anyone can look at my other post "Problem deploying Flexviewer app" I could really use some input on this as well. I can not figure out why my app appears sometimes and other times....it is just a white screen and I have to hit refresh a lot of times and then it will randomly sometimes work?!

    Thanks for any input anyone can give, I would really appreciate it!

    Josh C.
    Last edited by coatesj; 11-17-2010 at 12:58 PM.

  2. #2
    Robert Scheitlin

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    9,253
    Points
    5578
    Answers Provided
    938


    0

    Lightbulb Re: Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

    Joshua,

    What is your public sites url?

    Do you have a crossdomain.xml file in the root of the ArcGIS Servers wwwroot directory?
    Just because it's not the answer you want, does not mean that it is not the answer.

    Robert Scheitlin

    GIS Manager
    Calhoun County, Alabama


  3. #3
    James OBrien
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

    If you are getting sandbox error 2048, you probably need to configure one or more crossdomain.xml files

    I discuss the issue and solution here:

    http://geophyter.blogspot.com/2010/1...rror-2048.html

  4. #4
    Joshua Coates
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    148
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

    I looked and found no crossdomain.xml file in the web root directory. I added a crossdomain.xml into the wwwroot folder......and as of right now it looks just like it did from downloading it from the google link on the geophyter blogspot. Below is the configuration of the crossdomain.....how do I need to set it up?
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    <!DOCTYPE cross-domain-policy SYSTEM "http://www.macromedia.com/xml/dtds/cross-domain-policy.dtd">
    <cross-domain-policy>
      <site-control permitted-cross-domain-policies="by-content-type" />
    </cross-domain-policy>
    Also, is there anything I need to do in the config.xml file in the Flex project?

    Robert, the URL is http://publicgis.bartowga.org/floodplainproject_2.1/

    Thanks for the help,

    Josh C.

  5. #5
    Joshua Coates
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    148
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

    Ok, after doing some research, it seems like I do not need a crossdomain.xml. I have read that it is only necessary to have a crossdomain file if your application in not hosted on the same server where ArcGIS Server is hosted. Therefore, since my application is on the same server as ArcGIS Server, I do not see why I would need the crossdomain. Also, I am able to view .NET applications just fine and have the maps display with the layers and all data.
    Last edited by coatesj; 11-18-2010 at 05:54 AM.

  6. #6
    Dasa Paddock

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,160
    Points
    386
    Answers Provided
    65


    0

    Default Re: Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

    You need to use full urls for the layers in your config instead of just:
    http://publicgis/PublicGISserver/res...ions/MapServer
    Dasa Paddock
    Esri Flex and JavaScript Teams

  7. #7
    Joshua Coates
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    148
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

    What do you mean by full URL's? I thought I am using full URL's?! I copy and past the URL from the rest/services directory?

  8. #8
    Dasa Paddock

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,160
    Points
    386
    Answers Provided
    65


    0

    Default Re: Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

    It needs to include the domain for outside users or their DNS lookup will fail:
    http://publicgis.bartowga.org/Public...ions/MapServer
    Dasa Paddock
    Esri Flex and JavaScript Teams

  9. #9
    Joshua Coates
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    148
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

    Thank you tremendously. I will try this at work tomorrow, but I can now hit the rest/services page by including the new domain.....so I am pretty sure this is going to work!! Thank you again!


    Josh C.

  10. #10
    Eric Benson
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    12
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

    I too am having the same issue. I have the flex viewer installed on my web server with map services on my ArcGIS Server. I was getting the Sandbox error but placed a crossdomain file on the ArcGIS server and the error went away. When I view the application through the public domain, but from within my organizations network, everything works fine. When I view from outside, I see the application but with no data and no sandbox error. I seems that the public can't access the rest urls. Can someone more fully explain the idea behind the above mentioned "full urls". I experimented with this but it doesn't seem to help. Josh, were you able to get everything working by changing the urls? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

    Eric

  11. #11
    Eric Benson
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    12
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

    A few additional details regarding my question in the post above:

    Web server: imsweb
    ArcGIS Server : gissoc

    Outside link to my site:
    http://gis.co.cal.md.us/flexviewer_benson/

    my crossdomain.xml placed in the wwwroot folder on gissoc
    HTML Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" ?>
    <!DOCTYPE cross-domain-policy SYSTEM "http://www.adobe.com/xml/dtds/cross-domain-policy.dtd">
    <cross-domain-policy>
    <allow-access-from domain="*" />
    <site-control permitted-cross-domain-policies="all" />
    <allow-http-request-headers-from domain="*" headers="*" />
    </cross-domain-policy>
    The first part of my config file on imsweb:
    HTML Code:
    <configuration>
        <title>Calvert County Department Of Technology Services</title>
        <subtitle>Test Flex Application- Eric Benson</subtitle>
        <logo>assets/images/SEAL.gif</logo>
        <stylecolors>0xCEE7F4,0x39628C,0x355D89,0x294867,0xCEE7F4,0xFFFFED</stylecolors>
        <!-- stylecolors>0xCEE7F4,0x39628C,0x355D89,0x294867,0xCEE7F4,0xAFCFAF</stylecolors -->
        <stylealpha>0.8</stylealpha>
    
        <!-- UI elements -->
        <widget left="10"  top="50"    config="widgets/Navigation/NavigationWidget.xml" url="widgets/Navigation/NavigationWidget.swf"/>
        <widget right="-2" bottom="-2" config="widgets/OverviewMap/OverviewMapWidget.xml" url="widgets/OverviewMap/OverviewMapWidget.swf"/>
        <widget right="20" top="55"    config="widgets/MapSwitcher/MapSwitcherWidget.xml" url="widgets/MapSwitcher/MapSwitcherWidget.swf"/>
        <widget left="0"   top="0"     config="widgets/HeaderController/HeaderControllerWidget.xml" url="widgets/HeaderController/HeaderControllerWidget.swf"/>
        <widget left="10"  bottom="60" config = "widgets/Coordinate/CoordinateWidget.xml" url="widgets/Coordinate/CoordinateWidget.swf" />
    
        <map initialextent="" top="40">
            <basemaps>
                 <layer label="Streets" type="tiled" visible="true"  alpha="1"
                            url="http://ccg-gissoc/ArcGIS/rest/services/BaseMapTest/MapServer" />
                
             
            </basemaps>
            <operationallayers>
                
    	    
            </operationallayers>
        </map>

  12. #12
    Robert Scheitlin

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    9,253
    Points
    5578
    Answers Provided
    938


    0

    Lightbulb Re: Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

    Eric,

    Your issue is the same stated above you are not using fully qualified domain names for your map services

    http://ccg-gissoc/ArcGIS/rest/servic...Test/MapServer

    ccg-gisoc in the outside world (outside your domain) means very little. I would talk to your IT people and see what your fully qualified domain name is something like www.ccs-gisoc.com or something. If you are the IT people and still don't know this then you can find your full address using a reverse IP lookup and your IP address. Just google reverse IP lookup.
    Just because it's not the answer you want, does not mean that it is not the answer.

    Robert Scheitlin

    GIS Manager
    Calhoun County, Alabama


  13. #13
    Eric Benson
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    12
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

    But my ArcGIS Server is an internal server, locked down and not open to the outside. There is no full address for this server. I thought this was why a crossdomain file is needed. How are my ArcGIS Server built maps, which are hosted on the web server, hitting my rest services? Are they using a proxy?

  14. #14
    Robert Scheitlin

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    9,253
    Points
    5578
    Answers Provided
    938


    0

    Lightbulb Re: Cannot view my app outside the local intranet

    Eric,

    You need to setup a reverse proxy server then.

    http://resources.arcgis.com/content/...leShow&d=32634

    How are my ArcGIS Server built maps, which are hosted on the web server, hitting my rest services? Are they using a proxy?
    They aren't they are using the SOAP endPoint, different completely.
    Last edited by rscheitlin; 12-14-2010 at 07:41 AM. Reason: more info
    Just because it's not the answer you want, does not mean that it is not the answer.

    Robert Scheitlin

    GIS Manager
    Calhoun County, Alabama


+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts