+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Convert v10 file geodatabase to a v9.3.1 file geodatabase?

  1. #1
    Ashley Ignatius
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Question Convert v10 file geodatabase to a v9.3.1 file geodatabase?

    Hi,
    I have a file geodatabase that I created in v10 but I need to provide it to someone who is running 9.3.1. Is there a way to convert my database from v10 to v9.3.1?
    Last edited by amigna08; 12-02-2010 at 08:32 PM. Reason: spelling error

  2. #2
    Melita Kennedy

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,803
    Points
    513
    Answers Provided
    74


    0

    Default Re: Convert v10 file geodatabase to a v9.3.1 file geodataase?

    Quote Originally Posted by amigna08 View Post
    Hi,
    I have a file geodatabase that I created in v10 but I need to provide it to someone who is running 9.3.1. Is there a way to convert my database from v10 to v9.3.1?
    You can't convert it directly, but you can create a 9.3 geodatabase using the Create File GDB tool in the Workspace toolset of the Data Management toolbox.

    http://help.arcgis.com/en/arcgisdesk...00pw000000.htm

    "Jay" on http://gis.stackexchange.com mentioned that James Fee has posted a set of empty geodatabases from the various ArcGIS versions on his blog. You can find them here:

    http://www.spatiallyadjusted.com/200...-in-arcgis-91/

    Melita
    Melita Kennedy
    Sr. Esri Product Engineer

  3. #3
    Ashley Ignatius
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Convert v10 file geodatabase to a v9.3.1 file geodatabase?

    My database already has data in it. Is it possible to create a 9.3.1 database an import data from a v10 database? (perhaps using a xml/schema or something) I'm afraid of losing all of the lovely domains I set up

  4. #4
    Jane Onorati
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    27
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Convert v10 file geodatabase to a v9.3.1 file geodatabase?

    Ashley,

    Just add your geodatabase layers to ArcMap and group them. Then right-click on the group and select to Create Layer Package. If you do this in ArcMap 10, it puts both version 9.3 and 10 databases in the layer package. You can also use the Package Layer geoprocessing tool in Data Management Tools > Package toolset, and it will let you select what geodatabase versions to output.

    After the layer package is created, just unpack and the database you want will be in the v93 folder. Maybe there is a better method, but this worked for me!

    -Jane

  5. #5
    Morgan Graham
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    18
    Points
    2
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Convert v10 file geodatabase to a v9.3.1 file geodatabase?

    I'll have to give this a whirl...
    Still wondering though if people have an opinion on the following.

    If you client looks like they are going to be using 9.2 and 9.3 for some time, would you rather just create the geodatabase for them in 9.3, or are there enough benefits in 10 that justify jumping through the hoops of converting to the older version?

    Just curious.

  6. #6
    Frederic Squires
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    30
    Points
    9
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Default Re: Convert v10 file geodatabase to a v9.3.1 file geodatabase?

    I'd like to see a service pack that allows the 10 geodatabase to be read by 9.3.

  7. #7
    kyle turner
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    26
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Default Re: Convert v10 file geodatabase to a v9.3.1 file geodataase?

    Quote Originally Posted by mkennedy View Post
    You can't convert it directly, but you can create a 9.3 geodatabase using the Create File GDB tool in the Workspace toolset of the Data Management toolbox.

    http://help.arcgis.com/en/arcgisdesk...00pw000000.htm

    "Jay" on http://gis.stackexchange.com mentioned that James Fee has posted a set of empty geodatabases from the various ArcGIS versions on his blog. You can find them here:

    http://www.spatiallyadjusted.com/200...-in-arcgis-91/

    Melita
    Here's how I converted a Personalgeodatabase from v10 to v9.3:
    1) create empty v9.3 pgdb
    2) export v10 pgdb to xml workspace
    3) import xml workspace into v9.3 pgdb

  8. #8
    Lance Shipman

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    390
    Points
    113
    Answers Provided
    19


    0

    Default Re: Convert v10 file geodatabase to a v9.3.1 file geodatabase?

    Converting a personal geodatabase or a file geodatabase from v10 to v9.3:
    1) Create empty v9.3 pgdb or fgdb
    2) Export v10 pgdb/fgdb to xml workspace
    3) Import xml workspace into v9.3 pgdb/fgdb

    Alternatively:
    1) Create empty v9.3 pgdb or fgdb
    2) Copy/Paste the contents of the v10 geodatabase into v9.3 pgdb/fgdb

    The first approach will be slower, but will preserve unused domains. The second approach is faster, but will only copy used domains.
    Lance Shipman
    Geodatabase Product Engineer, File Geodatabase, SQLite
    Esri

  9. #9
    Lisa Arnold
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    91
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Convert v10 file geodatabase to a v9.3.1 file geodatabase?

    Lance,

    Will either of the above approaches preserve relationship classes?

    -----------------
    Lisa Arnold
    lisaarn@unm.edu
    GIS Analyst
    Natural Heritage New Mexico
    University of New Mexico

  10. #10
    Lance Shipman

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    390
    Points
    113
    Answers Provided
    19


    0

    Default Re: Convert v10 file geodatabase to a v9.3.1 file geodatabase?

    Both approaches will preserve relationship classes.
    Lance Shipman
    Geodatabase Product Engineer, File Geodatabase, SQLite
    Esri

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Convert v10 file geodatabase to a v9.3.1 file geodatabase?

    Quote Originally Posted by amigna08 View Post
    Hi,
    I have a file geodatabase that I created in v10 but I need to provide it to someone who is running 9.3.1. Is there a way to convert my database from v10 to v9.3.1?

    The easiest way I have found to do this is to bring all of the contents of the geodatabase into a new mxd. Group your layers as you would like to have them saved into datasets. Next group all of the contents into one overall group. Right click the overall layer group and provide a description under the general tap. Make sure to insert a description for every grouping (soon to be datasets), as well.

    Right click the overall group layer and create a layer package. Open up the layer package and navigate to the source of your files. There you will find a copy of the 9.3 and v.10 database.

  12. #12
    Jean-François Labrecque
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Convert v10 file geodatabase to a v9.3.1 file geodatabase?

    Quote Originally Posted by sabjop View Post
    The easiest way I have found to do this is to bring all of the contents of the geodatabase into a new mxd. Group your layers as you would like to have them saved into datasets. Next group all of the contents into one overall group. Right click the overall layer group and provide a description under the general tap. Make sure to insert a description for every grouping (soon to be datasets), as well.

    Right click the overall group layer and create a layer package. Open up the layer package and navigate to the source of your files. There you will find a copy of the 9.3 and v.10 database.

    Hello,

    The problem with this solution is that the lyr is not showing rapidly enough when it is charged in ArcGIS.

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts