+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Fill no data values areas in DEM

  1. #1
    Ruediger Fuerll
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Fill no data values areas in DEM

    I´m a rookie, therefor i need some advice.
    What is an efficient way to fill no data value areas in a DEM with reasonable values.
    Is there an easy to handle toolbox and what is a proper interpolation method?
    DEM values range between 1500-2700 m.

    Thanks for your guidance.

    Rudi

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    1

    Default Re: Fill no data values areas in DEM

    I use the following method to fill gaps in DEM. I uses a moving window that searches the DEM for Null data values and fills them with an average of the surrounding pixels.

    new_DEM_name = con(isnull(old_DEM_name), focalmean(old_DEM_name, rectangle,4,4), old_DEM_name)

    change "new_DEM_name" to anything that you want. "old_DEM_name" is the name of your DEM that has gaps in the data. You can adjust the size of the window by change 4,4 to 6,6 or anything you want.

  3. #3
    Donovan Cameron

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    477
    Points
    40
    Answers Provided
    3


    0

    Default Re: Fill no data values areas in DEM

    http://www.quantdec.com/SYSEN597/GTK...d.htm#patching

    http://www.esri.com/news/arcuser/0701/moredem.html

    If you have a coarser resolution DEM, you could steal those values to get some accurate results, or interpolation is the other alternative as from the other post using the focalmean function.


  4. #4
    Michael Stead
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    550
    Points
    58
    Answers Provided
    6


    0

    Default Re: Fill no data values areas in DEM

    Ya it kinda depends on the size of the holes, the resolution you are shooting for and access to existing data. You can resample, smooth, and reinterpolate all day long if all you want is a hillshade, but at some point the level of fantasy in your "data" tells more lies than truths. Unlike in crime shows you cannot increase resolution without adding more data.
    Last edited by mstead; 02-10-2011 at 01:45 PM.

  5. #5
    Ruediger Fuerll
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Fill no data values areas in DEM

    Thanks for your guidance, i tried the focal mean method, i had to use a wide search window (16;16) filling the big gaps, but it worked so far.
    Thank you

  6. #6
    Vasile Cristian Stan
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Fill no data values areas in DEM

    How it's possible to assign value 0 to all values that are below 0?

  7. #7
    Jake Diebolt
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    195
    Points
    22
    Answers Provided
    3


    0

    Default Re: Fill no data values areas in DEM

    Sounds like a job for raster calculator or map algrebra, if you have spatial analyst. I hope I'm getting the names right, I haven't worked with SA in years.

  8. #8
    aaron boci
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    18
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Fill no data values areas in DEM

    I am also having this problem but that code that was provided above did not work. I have 2 meter raster and much of it is No Data. I also have 10 meter data. I do not understand programming even though I have taken 4 semester. Is there a tool for which I can just add the values of the 10M cells to the cells of the 2M that are located in the same area but not taking away the correct data already in the 2M. Only replacing No Data with data from 10M

  9. #9
    Dee XXX
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    71
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Fill no data values areas in DEM

    I thought there was a tool to give the dead pixel the average of the surrounding 8 pixels? I remember being told that before. Anyone?

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts