+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Trouble rubbersheeting rasters?

  1. #1
    Joelle Freeman
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Question Trouble rubbersheeting rasters?

    Hi there,

    I am trying to georeference and rubbersheet a raster layer containing parcel records to match up with a vector layer containing the same. I thought this was a relatively straightforward process but obviously not this time.

    I get through the georeferencing process just fine. After I start an editing session (pointing to the workspace containing the raster), then I try to "Set Adjust Data" on the Spatial Adjustment toolbar. However the window is empty, listing no data at all. The raster data is not being recognized for some reason.

    Have tried rubbersheeting various formats including TIFF, IMG, and GRID with no success. Tested to see if this was a problem with ArcGIS 10, but the same thing occurs in older versions. Thought it might have something to do with the world file / .vat file containing the projection & georeference information. Can't find much information about that, and unsure if it is really the problem. Also I checked to make sure all my extensions are on, which they are.

    Any help with this would be greatly appreciated, as it is holding up progress on the entire project. I bet it is something simple that I'm overlooking. Let me rephrase that, I hope it is something simple that I'm overlooking!

    Note: We've considered using parcel editor and this project / dataset are not a good match for that solution.

  2. #2
    Patrick Taurman

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    242
    Points
    37
    Answers Provided
    12


    0

    Default Re: Trouble rubbersheeting rasters?

    To georeference a raster you need to use the Georeferencing toolbar. The Spatial Adjustment toolbar is for vector data.

  3. #3
    Joelle Freeman
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Trouble rubbersheeting rasters?

    voldune,

    As I mentioned, I am not having any trouble georeferencing the data! I can't figure out how to rubbersheet it. Also, the help documentation says nothing about the spatial adjustment toolbar being only for vector data.

    Let me know if you have any other tips.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Jim W
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    300
    Points
    93
    Answers Provided
    5


    0

    Default Re: Trouble rubbersheeting rasters?

    IF you have rasters with only line drawings then covert them to black and white and run them through ArcScan. The resulting vectors can be spatially adjusted. I typically do this for survey plans or old property boundary drawings. I was under the impression that the georeferencing toolbar is the only way to adjust a raster.

    Perhaps too you could just use more control points. I've gone as high as 30 control points trying to georeference a 2ha drawing from the 1930's. It's a bit of an art.

  5. #5
    Joelle Freeman
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Trouble rubbersheeting rasters?

    Thanks withershin, I will probably use the georeferencing technique you suggested. This will most likely make the RMS error increase, but we've decided to ignore that.

  6. #6
    Patrick Taurman

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    242
    Points
    37
    Answers Provided
    12


    0

    Default Re: Trouble rubbersheeting rasters?

    Quote Originally Posted by ellektra17 View Post
    I get through the georeferencing process just fine. After I start an editing session (pointing to the workspace containing the raster), then I try to "Set Adjust Data" on the Spatial Adjustment toolbar. However the window is empty, listing no data at all. The raster data is not being recognized for some reason.
    The raster data is not recognized by the Spatial Adjustment toolbar because it only works on vector data.

    If you re-read withershin's comments, he said to convert the raster to vector data which can then be spatially adjusted. If you want to rubbersheet your raster, withershin's suggestion to convert from raster to vector using ArcScan is valid, which will allow you to use the Spatial Adjustment toolbar on the resulting vector data.

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts