+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: can't install ArcView 3.3 in Windows 7 (32 bit)

  1. #1
    Joyu Liu
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    1

    Default can't install ArcView 3.3 in Windows 7 (32 bit)

    I'm trying to install the ArcView3.3 on my laptop.
    After clicking the setup.exe , it shows "This program can not be installed on a Windows3.51 operating system."

    is there any solutions?

    thanks!!

    Joyu

  2. #2
    John Sobetzer

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,006
    Points
    235
    Answers Provided
    24


    1

    Default

    I found that 3x can be installed on a 32 bit Windows 7 if you right click on the setup exe (Properties - Compatibility) and set it to run as an administrator and run in Windows XP SP3 compatibility mode.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: can't install ArcView 3.3 in Windows 7 (32 bit)

    Hello,

    just install on a WindowsXP-Machine and copy the whole program-folder to the Windows7-Machine. Works fine also with 64bit-Machines.

    Andre

  4. #4
    John Sobetzer

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,006
    Points
    235
    Answers Provided
    24


    0

    Default Re: can't install ArcView 3.3 in Windows 7 (32 bit)

    I can't make that work. Some of the exes will run but not arcview.exe. I've seen instructions for doing something similar but which required copying some other files and some registry entries such as the process stated here: http://gisteamz.blogspot.com/2009/07...ws-wp-x64.html or here on ESRI's site: http://forums.esri.com?Thread.asp?c=3&f=42&t=204156 but these are both for XP 64. Since I have an XP that is running 3.3 just fine I can skip the hassle of moving the program over but for those who can't they could try the copy approach (but back up the registry if one starts messing around in it), although at least XP Mode is there if the copy fails.

  5. #5
    Ming-Chieh Lee
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    1

    Lightbulb Re: can't install ArcView 3.3 in Windows 7 (32 bit)

    Quote Originally Posted by johns View Post
    I can't make that work. Some of the exes will run but not arcview.exe. I've seen instructions for doing something similar but which required copying some other files and some registry entries such as the process stated here: http://gisteamz.blogspot.com/2009/07...ws-wp-x64.html or here on ESRI's site: http://forums.esri.com?Thread.asp?c=3&f=42&t=204156 but these are both for XP 64. Since I have an XP that is running 3.3 just fine I can skip the hassle of moving the program over but for those who can't they could try the copy approach (but back up the registry if one starts messing around in it), although at least XP Mode is there if the copy fails.
    I just successfully installed ArcView GIS 3.3 on my Windows 7 x64 Desktop which has 12 GB RAM.
    You can do that by following below steps:
    1. Install ArcView GIS 3.3 under your Windows 7 XP Model, or any x86 Windows XP/7 in "C:\ESRI" (or alternatives).
    2. Copy C:\ESRI\AV_GIS30 and C:\ESRI\ESRIDATA from source PC to the same folder on your destination PC.
    3. Copy C:\Program Files\Common Files\ESRI from source PC to C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\ESRI on your destination PC.
    4. If you didn't install any other ESRI/ArcGIS product on the destination PC, you might want to copy the ESRI fonts from source PC and install that. The font could be:
    esri_1.ttf, esri_2.ttf, esri_3.ttf, esri_4.ttf, esri_5.ttf, esri_6.ttf, esri_7.ttf, esri_8.ttf, esri_9.ttf, esri_155.ttf.
    5. To make a shortcut of C:\ESRI\AV_GIS30\ARCVIEW\BIN32\arcview.exe on either Desktop or Start menu. Or you can copy the menu folder "ArcView GIS 3.3" under "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\ESRI\" from source PC to "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\ArcGIS" on destination PC.
    6. Now you are all set and you can click "ArcView GIS 3.3" shortcut to play it!

    Cheers!

  6. #6
    John Pritchard
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: can't install ArcView 3.3 in Windows 7 (32 bit)

    Thank you for this advice, worked well for me

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: can't install ArcView 3.3 in Windows 7 (32 bit)

    Thanks, you guys really help me

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts