+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Travel distance between two addresses

Barry Durand
    Answers Provided

Default Travel distance between two addresses

My apologies for posting this in multiple forums but I was not sure where to post it.
    I am very new to GIS - 3 weeks.

After over a week of fighting with it, I have figured out how to find the "as the crow flies" distance between two addresses.

I have written up instructions on how to do it. If anyone needs these instructions, just contact me and I will send them to you.

Now what I need to do, is something similar but get route distance (via roads) and if possible route time. This needs to be done in a many-to-one address relationship. For example, I need to find out how far driving distance it is from multiple specific addresses (which will be geocoded) to one specific address. More specific example, I need to know how far it will be for specific people to drive to a hospital or something similar. FYI, can't really use nearest facility because the destination address will be specified.

I have been looking for something similar to PointDistance_analysis but I can not find anything. Is what I am trying to do even possible? Is there a function similar to PointDistance_analysis or will it be much more complicated, as it looks like it may. If there is a function what is it? If it will be more complicated, a link to an example or something similar would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Barry
    Barry Durand
    UA School of Social Work
    bpdurand@sw.ua.edu

Alan Hatakeyama
    Answers Provided

Default Re: Travel distance between two addresses

Hi Barry,

Welcome to the world of GIS!

Quote Originally Posted by bpdurand View Post