+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Creating a street index for data driven pages

Sue Carroll
    Answers Provided

Default Creating a street index for data driven pages

I am not a programmer. I have created a map book of our county showing all the streets. Is there an easy way to create a list of the streets in each grid cell of the index for data driven pages? It used to be a choice in the old DS Mapbook tool. Will it be added back in a future release?

Timothy Hales

Answers Provided

Lightbulb Re: Creating a street index for data driven pages

Hi Sue,

You might take a look at this idea that has been posted on the ArcGIS Ideas page.

Indexing Capability for ArcGIS 10 Mapbooks (data driven pages)

-Timothy

Scott Jackson
    Answers Provided

Default Re: Creating a street index for data driven pages

I have come up with a simple solution to the dreaded Create Street Index. Just read the README to see how it works. I do hope this helps.
    Attached Files

Melissa Johnson
    Answers Provided

Thanks for the great Street Index tool Scott. Just tried it and it seems to have worked like a charm!

Kathleen Murphy
    Answers Provided

Talking Re: Creating a street index for data driven pages

Scott, the Street Index toolbox worked great. thanks so much. Is there some reason ESRI couldn't have come up with this?

Jon Ball
    Answers Provided

Scott's model works pretty well for me with one small problem: the streets are not sequenced into ascending order in the field that is created. For instance, I have for CENTRE AVENUE pages '27, 20, 21, 14'.

I dug into this a little, and it seems that the pages are sequenced in ascending order of associated ObjectID in the Grid record - page 27 has ObjectID 18, page 20 has 24, p21 has 25, p14 has 31.