+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Network Analyst: Error: The geometry is not Z-aware

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Network Analyst: Error: The geometry is not Z-aware

    Hi,

    while creating drivetime polygons, the Network Analyst gave me the error above.

    What does this mean?

    Thanks.
    Last edited by neuhausp; 04-27-2010 at 01:21 AM.

  2. #2
    Jay Sandhu

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    803
    Points
    272
    Answers Provided
    39


    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by neuhausp View Post
    Hi,

    while creating drivetime polygons, the Network Analyst gave me the error above.

    What does this mean?

    Thanks.
    This error message is masking the real problem. Most likely the service area failed due to some reason such as being too large or no edges traversed.

    What are your break values and what are the settings for the polygon generation. Perhaps you can turn on the Line Generation as see if any edges are getting traversed and then try to figure out why the service area failed.

    Jay Sandhu

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default

    Hi, my stop-values are 2,4,6,8,10,12,15,20,25,30,45 minutes.

    I tried to reduce them to just 4 minutes and relocated every facility that wasn't traversable. But it didn't help.

    The other settings are:

    Towards Facility, U-Turn Everywhere, Ignore Invalid Locations

    Generalized Polygons (not to trim polygons), overlapping, disks

    Generrate Lines (Overlapping) (not checked are generate measures, split lines at breaks and include network source fields)

    Thanks for your help!

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by neuhausp View Post
    I tried to reduce them to just 4 minutes and relocated every facility that wasn't traversable. But it didn't help.
    To be clear: That helped for the 4 minute-polygons. But after adding the other break points as well the z-aware error is shown again...

  5. #5
    Jay Sandhu

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    803
    Points
    272
    Answers Provided
    39


    0

    Default

    How many faciliies do you have in your service area layer? I am wondering if it is running out of memory.

    Jay Sandhu

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default

    There are between 50 oder 60 facilites in the service layer.

  7. #7
    Jay Sandhu

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    803
    Points
    272
    Answers Provided
    39


    0

    Default Re: Network Analyst: Error: The geometry is not Z-aware

    with 45 minute service area around 50 to 60 facilities you are most likely running out of memory.
    I would suggest that you either reduce the number of facilities OR use "chunking", that is solving
    the problem in chunks by setting a registry key to instruct the software to do this. You can get the
    details on how to enable this by the following article:

    http://resources.arcgis.com/content/...leShow&d=30760

    Regards,
    Jay Sandhu

  8. #8
    Jim Reynolds
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    9
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Network Analyst: Error: The geometry is not Z-aware

    I am getting the same error. I did the registry modification and am running the analysis now. Keeping fingers crossed (it takes a few hours to run...you'll see why when you see the size of the service area I am calculating).
    23 facilities
    Calculating 300 minutes away from facilties
    U-turns allowed
    Overlapping generalized polygons
    No trimming
    No line generation
    Running on Win7x64, 3.33Ghz quad core Xeon, 6GB RAM
    While running analysis, machine never says that its using more than 4GB RAM so I'm not sure of memory is the problem....but I'm willing to try anything.

    I know this is a very large service area but it's what I need to run. Is it possible to run one this large? BTW-The service area is legal driving time for commercial trucks. We're trying to determine if service areas are large enough.

    Thanks,
    Jim
    Last edited by jimreynolds; 04-05-2011 at 10:28 AM. Reason: typo

  9. #9
    Jay Sandhu

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    803
    Points
    272
    Answers Provided
    39


    0

    Default Re: Network Analyst: Error: The geometry is not Z-aware

    300 minute service area in some parts of the country may fail on 2 GB machines.
    Since you are running on a 64 bit environment with 6 GB, and if you are running ArcGIS 10.0,
    then it will be able to use up to 4 GB. It should work with the chunking on.

    I will suggest that you add a TRIM of 500 to 1000 meters otherwise the polygons will look like blobs.
    The trim should add couple of extra minutes to each solve but results in much better looking polygons.

    If it does not work then I will suggest that you run it as background GP process with Solve tool in the network analyst toolbox.

    Make sure to have created the service area layer AFTER you add the registry keys as that will make that service area layer use the registry settings.

    Jay Sandhu

  10. #10
    Jim Reynolds
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    9
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Network Analyst: Error: The geometry is not Z-aware

    Actually I mis-spoke. The service area I'm calculating is 300 miles, not 300 minutes. I know this is an extremely large service area. But it did work without crashing when I broke the locations down to smaller datasets only processing 3 location the first time. I'm currently running the same 3 locations with the setting as you suggest and using the Solve tool rather than the toolbar. If this works, then I'll try it with 5 locations.

    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by jsandhu View Post
    300 minute service area in some parts of the country may fail on 2 GB machines.
    Since you are running on a 64 bit environment with 6 GB, and if you are running ArcGIS 10.0,
    then it will be able to use up to 4 GB. It should work with the chunking on.

    I will suggest that you add a TRIM of 500 to 1000 meters otherwise the polygons will look like blobs.
    The trim should add couple of extra minutes to each solve but results in much better looking polygons.

    If it does not work then I will suggest that you run it as background GP process with Solve tool in the network analyst toolbox.

    Make sure to have created the service area layer AFTER you add the registry keys as that will make that service area layer use the registry settings.

    Jay Sandhu

  11. #11
    Jim Reynolds
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    9
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Network Analyst: Error: The geometry is not Z-aware

    OK....I'm back on this project.

    Still having problems with larger service areas and I'm desperate. I am able to solve for relatively small service areas (180-240 minutes) in just a few minutes.

    Solving for service areas up to 540 minutes. I've turned on Forced Chunking and set the edge chuck size down to 100,000. 200,000 did not work. It runs for 1-1 1/2 hours using only 5-12% CPU and then crashes. I also set the polygon trimming to 5000 meters (actually I've tried from 500 to 5000 and everything in between).

    Suggestions?

    Any chance there is a 64bit ArcMap coming any time soon that can use more RAM?

    Thanks,
    Jim
    Last edited by jimreynolds; 06-21-2011 at 10:11 AM.

  12. #12
    Jay Sandhu

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    803
    Points
    272
    Answers Provided
    39


    0

    Default Re: Network Analyst: Error: The geometry is not Z-aware

    540 Minute service areas are very large and will most likely not work in dense parts of the country. As far as trim goes, I think a 500 meter trim is reasonable for large service areas.

    In ArcGIS 10.1 we have added support for Hierarchy in the Service Areas which means it will solve very large service areas very quickly by travelling on the upper level roads. You can get on the Beta program and try out this functionality. The beta for ArcGIS 10.1 is coming out very soon.

    Jay Sandhu

  13. #13
    Jim Reynolds
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    9
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Network Analyst: Error: The geometry is not Z-aware

    Quote Originally Posted by jsandhu View Post
    . You can get on the Beta program and try out this functionality. The beta for ArcGIS 10.1 is coming out very soon.

    Jay Sandhu
    That sounds promising.....silly question, how do I get on the Beta program?

  14. #14
    Jay Sandhu

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    803
    Points
    272
    Answers Provided
    39


    0

    Default Re: Network Analyst: Error: The geometry is not Z-aware

    You can contact your Esri rep/local office and request it, or see the details here to sign up:
    http://blogs.esri.com/dev/blogs/arcg....1-beta-1.aspx

    Regards,
    Jay Sandhu

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts