+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Business Analyst (License not available) yet we have the 10 .sdlic file installed

  1. #1
    Daniel Sheehan
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    31
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Business Analyst (License not available) yet we have the 10 .sdlic file installed

    I can't check the Business Analyst extension (it says: (License not available)) yet in ArcGIS Administrator -> Data Licenses our license says BA10_US_Basic_2010, and all the info is right there.

    Has anyone else had this problem before?

  2. #2
    Jason Robinson

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    252
    Points
    131
    Answers Provided
    30


    0

    Default Re: Business Analyst (License not available) yet we have the 10 .sdlic file installed

    Daniel,

    I believe you logged an incident with ESRI Support Service but if you did not let me know.

    Regards,
    Jason

  3. #3
    Daniel Sheehan
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    31
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Cool Re: Business Analyst (License not available) yet we have the 10 .sdlic file installed

    Right, thanks Esri.

    For anyone trolling the forums, let me just clarify what was going on;

    The .sdlic is the license file for the data, it does not activate the extension. Our organization has 2 ArcGIS license servers, however, our recent annual update did not include business analyst as an extension on our site-wide or departmental license server. So rather than point to a centralized license server to activate the Extension, what we did is set up a local license server on the machine we installed Business Analyst so that we can point to it for Business Analyst extension. We then had to register /authorize the extension and ArcInfo license locally.

    So when we use Business Analyst we point the machine to the local license manager and if we want to use, say, Spatial Analyst extension, we point to our license manager on our license server machine.

  4. #4
    ROMAN FILOZOF
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    37
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Question Another situation

    I have another situation with that .sdlic file. I've installed BA without pointing on it during the installation so the data are unavailable. But now I have that file. How can I register it to get the access to the data?

    Done. Found in help how to do it using Administrator. Sorry for disturbing.
    Last edited by RPictures; 02-15-2012 at 06:12 AM.

  5. #5
    Juliana Wilhoit
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    16
    Points
    8
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Default Re: Another situation

    Quote Originally Posted by RPictures View Post
    Done. Found in help how to do it using Administrator. Sorry for disturbing.
    I just want to clarify, that you have resolved this issue and that you no longer require help.


    Regards,

    Juliana

  6. #6
    Alagappan AL
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    30
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Business Analyst (License not available) yet we have the 10 .sdlic file installed

    Hi All,

    We have ArcGIS Server 10, BA Server and BA Data installed in Windows Server 2008. And we don't have any desktop components in this server. We have (BA10_US_Basic_2010.sdlic) data license file and we would like to Add this Data License in this Server.

    Usually data license will be added via ArcGIS Desktop Administrator / ArcGIS Configuration Manager (ArcGISAdmin.exe) - Add Data License OR double clicking the .sdlic file. Both these options will work only if ArcGIS Desktop is installed.

    Since ArcGIS Desktop is not installed in the Server machine, we are stuck to add this data license in Server. In other words, how to add / install license file (*.sdlic) to ArcGIS Server/ BA Server (without ArcGIS Desktop)? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    The background for trying to add this data license (BA10_US_BAsic_2010.sdlic): We are using Business Analyst Server REST Service Endpoint - "LocatorReport" to calculate the drive distance between points. This LocatorReport Service uses StreetMap Data (BA data) for calculating the drive distance and it expects data license.
    Regards
    Alagappan

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts