+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Open Attribute Table in ArcMap Doesn't Work

  1. #1
    Gregory Slutz
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9
    Points
    4
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Default Open Attribute Table in ArcMap Doesn't Work

    When I select Open Attribute Table on any layer that came on the DVD with the book, ArcMap hangs up. If I use the Identify tool in ArcMap it instantly displays the selected recors. Also, ArcCatalog correctly displays the attribute table when I select Preview Table.

    Any ideas why Open Attribute Table in ArcMap 10.0 SP 3 does not work? It works fine on my project data sets.

  2. #2
    Tim Ormsby
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    74
    Points
    5
    Answers Provided
    8


    0

    Default Re: Open Attribute Table in ArcMap Doesn't Work

    Hi Gregory,

    I don't know what's going on. I haven't been able to make it happen for myself, using the book DVD with ArcGIS 10 SP3 on an XP machine running Windows 7. Have tried it by installing the data locally, accessing it from a network drive, and reading it from the DVD: the attribute tables always open normally for me. Can you give me more information about your computer and operating system? Sorry about this.

    Tim

  3. #3
    Gregory Slutz
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9
    Points
    4
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Default Re: Open Attribute Table in ArcMap Doesn't Work

    I am using a LENOVO ThinkPad T61 32 bit laptop with 4 GB RAM running Windows Vista 2007.

    I copied the work book data to my C: drive and am accessing it from there.

    I have not had this problem with any other data.

    Regards,

    Greg

  4. #4
    Christian Harder
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Open Attribute Table in ArcMap Doesn't Work

    Hi Gregory,

    Are you running the ArcGIS Desktop trial software that came with the book or an installation from another source?

    Sorry you're still having the problem.

    Christian

  5. #5
    Gregory Slutz
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9
    Points
    4
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Default Re: Open Attribute Table in ArcMap Doesn't Work

    I am running our standard corporate version of ArcGIS 10 not the trial version that came with the book. We package the software and then push it out via our intranet. It could be an issue with the packaging. I will have someone here try it on their PC to see if it is unique to my PC.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Christian Harder
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Open Attribute Table in ArcMap Doesn't Work

    Do you know which license level: ArcView, ArcEditor or ArcInfo?
    Christian

  7. #7
    Gregory Slutz
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9
    Points
    4
    Answers Provided
    1


    0
    This post is marked as the answer

    Default Re: Open Attribute Table in ArcMap Doesn't Work

    A colleague tried opening the tables and was successful. I tried opening the attribute tables again today and it works fine! Go figure, must have been something with my PC.

    Thanks for the comments and suggestions.

  8. #8
    Patrick de Witt
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    3
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Open Attribute Table in ArcMap Doesn't Work

    Hi,

    I also faced the same problem with creating the first map, Based Layer Streets and then a Data Layer. One time it did open up and when I tried it later following the exact same actions it didn't.

    When you first add a Data Layer, open the Attribute Table and then add the Based Layer Streets, the problem never came up and I can work just fine. I don't know if this is relevant for you, but for me it works.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts