+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Importing S-57 files to a geodatabase

  1. #1
    Karl Wilson
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    151
    Points
    24
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Question Importing S-57 files to a geodatabase

    I'm trying to import S-57 files into a geodatabase using the S-57 to Geodatabase tool.

    Within ArcMap, I create a new file GDB and then create a Feature Dataset. I then right click on the feature dataset and select Import > S-57 to Geodatabase and I get the following error:
    "There was a problem loading the product configuration file"

    Where do I set this configuration file and what is the likely problem?

    I'm new to the Nautical Solution, and it seems like a steep learning curve. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	s-57_to_GDB.png‎
Views:	129
Size:	13.1 KB
ID:	12841  

  2. #2
    Nancy El-Zeaiter
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    5
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Red face Re: Importing S-57 files to a geodatabase

    Quote Originally Posted by kwgis View Post
    I'm trying to import S-57 files into a geodatabase using the S-57 to Geodatabase tool.

    Within ArcMap, I create a new file GDB and then create a Feature Dataset. I then right click on the feature dataset and select Import > S-57 to Geodatabase and I get the following error:
    "There was a problem loading the product configuration file"

    Where do I set this configuration file and what is the likely problem?

    I'm new to the Nautical Solution, and it seems like a steep learning curve. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
    Hello...and I'd be glad to assist if I can. In the Install location there will be an XML file named NAUTICAL_ENC_TEMPLATE_VXXXXXXXX_GX.XML, which should be located at <Install directory>\PLTS\Nautical\ENC\Schema\Workspace .

    You will create the file GDB and then import this schema into your database, this will create the dataset for you, and set all the configuration files needed to import the ENC cell into the database.

    Hope this is helpful....and please let me know if you need further assistance.

    Nancy

  3. #3
    Karl Wilson
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    151
    Points
    24
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Arrow Re: Importing S-57 files to a geodatabase

    Thanks for the help Nancy.

    I managed to import the schema to the GDB OK, but now when i try to import the S-57 cell, the option is greyed-out. Any ideas?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Load_S57.png‎
Views:	121
Size:	24.7 KB
ID:	13104  

  4. #4
    Nancy El-Zeaiter
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    5
    Answers Provided
    1


    1
    This post is marked as the answer

    Lightbulb Re: Importing S-57 files to a geodatabase

    Quote Originally Posted by kwgis View Post
    Thanks for the help Nancy.

    I managed to import the schema to the GDB OK, but now when i try to import the S-57 cell, the option is greyed-out. Any ideas?
    Karl,

    Make sure that the Production Mapping and Nautical extensions are turned on. To do this you simply go to Customize on the Standard toolbar, click on extensions, and make sure that both the Production Mapping and Nautical extensions are turned on.

    If this doesn't do the trick, let me know and we'll trouble shoot further, K? ;-)

    Nancy

  5. #5
    Nancy El-Zeaiter
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    5
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Talking Re: Importing S-57 files to a geodatabase

    Quote Originally Posted by nelzeaiter View Post
    Karl,

    Make sure that the Production Mapping and Nautical extensions are turned on. To do this you simply go to Customize on the Standard toolbar, click on extensions, and make sure that both the Production Mapping and Nautical extensions are turned on.

    If this doesn't do the trick, let me know and we'll trouble shoot further, K? ;-)

    Nancy
    Karl,

    Where you able to verify that the extensions were active?? I hope that you are able to proceed without further issues. Please let me know if how things are going.

    Sincerely Yours,

    Nancy

  6. #6
    Karl Wilson
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    151
    Points
    24
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Importing S-57 files to a geodatabase

    Quote Originally Posted by nelzeaiter View Post
    Karl,

    Make sure that the Production Mapping and Nautical extensions are turned on. To do this you simply go to Customize on the Standard toolbar, click on extensions, and make sure that both the Production Mapping and Nautical extensions are turned on.

    If this doesn't do the trick, let me know and we'll trouble shoot further, K? ;-)

    Nancy
    Yes that was the problem, thanks Nancy.

    What I'm trying to do is go through a simple test procedure where I load a NOAA S-57 file into a geodatabase, and then export it again to a S-57 file. I think I want to work with the desktop production environment.

    I'm looking at the Importing and baselining existing ENC data topic in the ArcGIS Help Library to try and achieve this, but it's quite hard to follow as there are several levels of associated links to wade through.

    The only relevant tutorial I've found so far is "Setting up the Nautical Product Library for Electronic Charting" which was included in the TutorialsSamples folder as part of the install. It doesn't cover import/export of S-57 or building a product library / product geodatabases. Are there any other tutorials available for the Nautical Solution?

    I'm also a little confused with the concept of product geodatabases and product instances. From the Help documentation I am under the impression that product instances can only be created on "personal ArcSDE" databases (i.e. Microsoft SQL Server Express). However in the tutorial examples they are stored in File GDBs.

    Thanks again,
    Karl

  7. #7
    Karl Wilson
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    151
    Points
    24
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Question Re: Importing S-57 files to a geodatabase

    I'm also having an issue with trying to export the Geodatabase to S-57. I have to run Update Primitives first but that option is greyed out on the Production Editing toolbar. The Production Mapping and Nautical extensions are turned on.

  8. #8
    Nancy El-Zeaiter
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    5
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Wink LL

    Quote Originally Posted by kwgis View Post
    I'm also having an issue with trying to export the Geodatabase to S-57. I have to run Update Primitives first but that option is greyed out on the Production Editing toolbar. The Production Mapping and Nautical extensions are turned on.
    Karl,

    A product instance is simply the reference to the node in the Product library where the product database is stored and displayed in the Product Library treeview. Each product instance, or NOAA cell has it's own instance, or is stored in its own geodatabase.

    The desktop production environments:

    The desktop production environments are more simplified, where data for a single nautical product is created and managed within a single geodatabase. The product library can also manage this production environment if working with an ArcSDE geodatabase.

    There are two desktop production environments: the desktop production environment for existing products, and desktop production environment for creating new products. The desktop production environment for existing products is used when you need to import existing S-57 cells into your production geodatabase. The desktop production environment for creating new products is used when you need to compile a new S-57 cell into your production geodatabase.

    This type of deployment of the PLTS for ArcGIS — Nautical Solution would be most appropriate for small production facilities, agencies maintaining less than a dozen nautical products and special purpose charts.

    Please refer to the following link for more information regarding the use of ArcSDE geodatabases:

    http://webhelp.esri.com/arcgisdeskto...administration

    Make sure that you are in an edit session to run Update Primitives...you must start an edit session to run the tool.

    Nancy

  9. #9
    Karl Wilson
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    151
    Points
    24
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Importing S-57 files to a geodatabase

    Quote Originally Posted by kwgis View Post
    I'm also a little confused with the concept of product geodatabases and product instances. From the Help documentation I am under the impression that product instances can only be created on "personal ArcSDE" databases (i.e. Microsoft SQL Server Express). However in the tutorial examples they are stored in File GDBs.
    Let me rephrase the above:
    Can individual product geodatabases in the desktop production environment be built on File geodatabases, or do they have to be built on ArcSDE geodatabases (using Microsoft SQL Server Express)?

    Quote Originally Posted by nelzeaiter View Post
    Make sure that you are in an edit session to run Update Primitives...you must start an edit session to run the tool.
    Thanks, that worked.

  10. #10
    Nancy El-Zeaiter
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    5
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Default Re: Importing S-57 files to a geodatabase

    Yes you can import S-57 cells into File Geodatabase format, but to determine the best option for your organization's needs, please refer to the following link:

    http://webhelp.esri.com/arcgisdeskto...f_geodatabases

    Nancy

  11. #11
    Karl Wilson
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    151
    Points
    24
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Question Re: Importing S-57 files to a geodatabase

    After running Update Primitives I tied to run the Geodatabase to S-57 tool again but got an error, the log is below:

    Code:
    ----------------------------------
    Export report for cell US4LA30M
    ----------------------------------
        Error while initializing FREL Cache.-2147220985
        ExportEN failed-2147220985
    Total export time: 0 Hrs 0 Mins 8 Secs
    Any suggestions?

  12. #12
    Andy Ommen
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Importing S-57 files to a geodatabase

    Karl,

    Sorry for the long delay in replying to your last post. This is a known defect with the File Geodatabase. If you setup an ENC product geodatabase on SQL Express using the Desktop workflow, you should have success importing and exporting an ENC cell.

    Thank you

    Andy

  13. #13
    Ruel Macayan
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    11
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Importing S-57 files to a geodatabase

    I'm also having trouble importing S57 to Geodatabase I have this error

    Click image for larger version

Name:	error.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	19.6 KB
ID:	25571

    How to Configuring symbology do I need to use Python? Hope you will help me I really needed this to learn!

    Thanks

  14. #14
    Oleksandr Neprokin
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Importing S-57 files to a geodatabase

    Could you please explaine step by step how to import S-57 charts into geodatabase (enterprise on MS SQL Server 2008)? Does it matter if ArcGIS Server 10.0 installed and ArcGIS for Maritime: Charting is younger - 10.1 (for ArcGIS Desctop 10.1)? Thanx.

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts