+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Add X,Y data not working?

  1. #1
    Samantha M
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    47
    Points
    3
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Add X,Y data not working?

    I am simply trying to make point shapefiles from x,y data. It doesn't seem to work, perhaps I am doing it incorrectly. Please check the image below it fully illustrates the issue I am having.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	xy.jpg
Views:	627
Size:	207.8 KB
ID:	13683
    Thank you

  2. #2
    Mathew Coyle

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,392
    Points
    969
    Answers Provided
    151


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    You mixed up your lat and longs.
    Mathew Coyle, EADA10
    GIS Analyst
    Alberta-Pacific Forest Industries Inc.
    ArcGIS 10.2.2 Testing
    ArcGIS 10.1 SP1
    Desktop, Server, ArcPad
    Windows 7 SP1 64-bit

  3. #3
    Michael Miller
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    119
    Points
    18
    Answers Provided
    4


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    Quote Originally Posted by SamanthaM View Post
    I am simply trying to make point shapefiles from x,y data. It doesn't seem to work, perhaps I am doing it incorrectly. Please check the image below it fully illustrates the issue I am having.
    Attachment 13683
    Thank you
    You sure you're using your x and y values correctly in the input??

  4. #4
    Samantha M
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    47
    Points
    3
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    Quote Originally Posted by mzcoyle View Post
    You mixed up your lat and longs.
    I switched the values around, no result.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	attempt2.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	57.2 KB
ID:	13686

  5. #5
    Dan Patterson

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,756
    Points
    443
    Answers Provided
    41


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    By chance are your longitudes missing a negative sign?
    Geomatics, Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada
    http://obidangis.blogspot.ca/

  6. #6
    Samantha M
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    47
    Points
    3
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan_Patterson View Post
    By chance are your longitudes missing a negative sign?
    Pardon my ignorance, but I am not sure what you are trying to tell me. The coordinates in the original image 33.159106, -97.105016 when entered in google maps take you to the exact spot I am trying to import into ArcGIS. If the coordinates when entered into google maps display correctly, it shouldnt be missing any negative signs.

  7. #7
    Marcin Gasior

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    450
    Points
    559
    Answers Provided
    91


    1

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    The problem is that you selected Projected Coordinate System as a 'Coordinate System of Input Coordinates' and it should be Geographic Coordinate System (GCS).
    Google uses WGS 1984 as a GCS so to use this GCS for your data you have to:
    - in Spatial Reference Properties dialog box click Select
    - then Geographic Coordinate System -> World -> WGS 1984.prj

    BTW: coordinates assignment standard is:
    X Field - Longitude: -97.105016
    Y Field - Latitude: 33.159106
    Last edited by m.gasior; 04-20-2012 at 03:38 AM.

  8. #8
    Samantha M
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    47
    Points
    3
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    Quote Originally Posted by m.gasior View Post
    The problem is that you selected Projected Coordinate System as a 'Coordinate System of Input Coordinates' and it should be Geographic Coordinate System (GCS).
    Google uses WGS 1984 as a GCS so to use this GCS for your data you have to:
    - in Spatial Reference Properties dialog box click Select
    - then Geographic Coordinate System -> World -> WGS 1984.prj

    BTW: coordinates assignment standard is:
    X Field - Longitude: -97.105016
    Y Field - Latitude: 33.159106
    Revisiting this thread, attempted this solution today. However, before I can do a projection there are some problems I need to resolve I believe. When I go to file-> add data-> xy data and import my excel file it gives me an ArcMap Drawing Error. In addition, the attribute table for the XY data added is completely blank. Please see the image below to clearly illustrate the problem
    Click image for larger version

Name:	xydata1.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	104.2 KB
ID:	13940

    I assume these are issues I need to resolve before I can fix the GCS projection issue.

    In fact, I tried simply going to this XY point by using the Go to XY tool and inputing the long 32.680252 and lat -97.039914 followed by zoom to, and nothing happens
    Last edited by SamanthaM; 04-30-2012 at 06:10 AM.

  9. #9
    Darren Wiens

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    823
    Points
    271
    Answers Provided
    37


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    ArcMap doesn't like spaces in the field names. While you're removing those, make sure there are no extra spaces at the beginning or end of your field names. It doesn't look there are any, but for future reference ArcMap also doesn't like funny characters in your field names (for example, '#').

    Also, there is no such thing as latitude -97.039914.
    Last edited by dkwiens; 04-30-2012 at 09:01 AM.

  10. #10
    Dan Patterson

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,756
    Points
    443
    Answers Provided
    41


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    check up further, that was longitude not latitude
    Geomatics, Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada
    http://obidangis.blogspot.ca/

  11. #11
    Hardolph Wasteneys
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    316
    Points
    104
    Answers Provided
    17


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    Samantha,

    Please follow these Steps to avoid further confusion:

    1. go to your original spreadsheet and re-label the columns Field_Y_Latitude (the ones like 33.159106) and Field_X_Longitude (the -97.105016 ones).
    2. resave the sheet as a .csv file called "XYPoints.csv"
    3. start ArcMAP and run the Add XY Data tool browsing to input "XYPoints.csv"
    4. set X Field: = Field_X_Longitude and Y Field: = Field_Y_Latitude.
    5. at the bottom of the box hit EDIT... and Select in Geographic Coordinate Systems folder North Americafolder: "North American Datum 1983.prj "which will show up as GCS_North_American_1983
    6. In ArcMAP table of contents Right-Click on the "XYPoints.csv Events" layer and Data > Export Data and specify the coordinate system as the layers source data in whatever file format you want Shapefile or Feature Class.

    You can then either do step 6 again and use your Data Frames Projected coordinate system (assuming you have set it to that of a base map in Texas State Plane) for a projected shapefile output or use the Data Management > Projection and Transformations > Project tool and output your data into Texas State plane or whatever.

    All the other posts have given correct advice, but don't bother trying to find a "solution"; you've just run into a common problem mixing up X and Y for Latitude and Longitude. Maybe it just sounds better that way.

    Hardolph
    Last edited by Hardolph; 04-30-2012 at 09:34 PM.
    Hardolph Wasteneys Ph.D., P.Geo.
    Geologist
    Vancouver Island

    hardolph@bravewolf.com

  12. #12
    Samantha M
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    47
    Points
    3
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hardolph View Post
    Samantha,
    5. at the bottom of the box hit EDIT... and Select in Geographic Coordinate Systems folder North Americafolder: "North American Datum 1983.prj "which will show up as GCS_North_American_1983
    Hardolph
    Thanks a ton everything worked great! I just have a question at step 5, when I am going to edit and selecting North American Datum 1983. Is that defining the coordinate system of my xy input or is it projecting it?

  13. #13
    Pawan Vuppala
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    64
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    2


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    That definitely seems like a "Define" since that is the first time you're creating the spatial data for a raw dataset.
    Quote Originally Posted by SamanthaM View Post
    Thanks a ton everything worked great! I just have a question at step 5, when I am going to edit and selecting North American Datum 1983. Is that defining the coordinate system of my xy input or is it projecting it?

  14. #14
    Samantha M
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    47
    Points
    3
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    @Vaayu, thank you very much

    Importing the excel x,y data worked great. However, using the "go to x,y" tool from the toolbar up top does not seem to work. I input the coordinates exactly as they are in the excel file. I then try different options such as zoom to, flash, or add point and it does not work. What am I doing incorrectly?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	XYgoto.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	53.1 KB
ID:	14273

    Again this is a seperate issues from the input XY data from excel, that worked great. This is using the go to xy tool.

    Thanks again for your help everyone, I really appreciate it.

  15. #15
    Hardolph Wasteneys
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    316
    Points
    104
    Answers Provided
    17


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    Samantha,

    for the Go To X-Y tool with the coordinates as shown you need to change the entry format to "decimal degrees" by clicking the small drop down arrow on the right end of the toolbar. You have it selected for "degrees minute seconds" which would look more like 98 33 22 W for X and 35 48 27 N for Y in the entry windows.

    Hardolph
    Hardolph Wasteneys Ph.D., P.Geo.
    Geologist
    Vancouver Island

    hardolph@bravewolf.com

  16. #16
    Samantha M
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    47
    Points
    3
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hardolph View Post
    Samantha,
    for the Go To X-Y tool with the coordinates as shown you need to change the entry format to "decimal degrees"
    Thanks for your reply. I changed it to decimal degrees and input the coordinates, and it does not flash or zoom to the coordinates provided.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	gotoxy.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	114.8 KB
ID:	14275

  17. #17
    Hardolph Wasteneys
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    316
    Points
    104
    Answers Provided
    17


    0

    Default Re: Add X,Y data not working?

    Samantha,

    it does not go to the coordinates because you have reversed the inputs: Long: = -97.080497 (the X coordinate) and Lat: = 33.155781 (the Y coordinate).
    The Go To tool does not "know" that you have reversed them, but there is no latitude -97.080497 or anything above -90 for that matter in degrees, so it just sits.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	Denton.JPG
Views:	61
Size:	181.2 KB
ID:	14279

    Hardolph
    Hardolph Wasteneys Ph.D., P.Geo.
    Geologist
    Vancouver Island

    hardolph@bravewolf.com

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts