+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Cannot Connect to ArcGIS Online via ArcCatalog as GIS Server

  1. #1
    Darroch Kaye
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    52
    Points
    4
    Answers Provided
    3


    0

    Default Cannot Connect to ArcGIS Online via ArcCatalog as GIS Server

    Hi,

    I'm trying to add tasks.arcgisonline.com/arcgis/services as a GIS Server in ArcCatalog however I keep getting the following error message:

    We were unable to connect to tasks.arcgisonline.com/arcgis/services. Error: The parameter is incorrect.

    I have also tried tasks.arcgisonline.com/arcgis/rest/services to no avail.

    Before anyone asks, I am connected to the internet, but as long as there isn't some silly feature I have to turn on in ArcCatalog, I can't see what the problem is. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks,
    DK

  2. #2
    Mike Minami

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,580
    Points
    688
    Answers Provided
    131


    0

    Default Re: Cannot Connect to ArcGIS Online via ArcCatalog as GIS Server

    I don't know why you can't connect. What version of ArcGIS Desktop are you running? You might check the ArcGIS Desktop forums.

    Thanks,

    Mike

  3. #3
    David Cleland
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Cannot Connect to ArcGIS Online via ArcCatalog as GIS Server

    I am also having this problem. I just became aware of the issue yesterday. I cannot connect to the ArcGIS Online services, our internal services or any published ArcGIS Server. Everytime I attempt to setup a new ArcGIS server connection I am prompted with Error: The parameter is incorrect.

    I have confirmed with my co-workers that their systems still work. Prior to noticing the issue I was ArcGIS 10.0 SP 3, I have tried updating to SP 5 and a repair of my ArcGIS install; to no avail. We do not use a proxy for access. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

    Update: Some malware changed my proxy settings. Once that was undone, problem solved.
    Last edited by dcleland; 08-17-2012 at 11:33 AM. Reason: Update

  4. #4
    Darroch Kaye
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    52
    Points
    4
    Answers Provided
    3


    0
    This post is marked as the answer

    Default Re: Cannot Connect to ArcGIS Online via ArcCatalog as GIS Server

    Hi,

    This problem has been solved. My company's internet settings weren't compatible with Esri's; my work use a Proxy Auto Config (PAC) file which I think was causing issues. Anyway, my IT Dept. worked at it and it is now working.

    Cheers,
    DK

  5. #5
    Graham Wood
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    58
    Points
    5
    Answers Provided
    0


    1

    Default Re: Cannot Connect to ArcGIS Online via ArcCatalog as GIS Server

    I had a very similar issue..(incuding hours searching online..) where only my pc was reporting the issue in ArcMap/Catalog

    The service worked fine on firefox, arcgis for autocad and Autocad using WMS

    it turned out that Internet Explorer (which I rarely use was set to "work offline")

    so a quick unchecking of File --> Work Offline fixed the issue

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts