+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: arcgis 10.1 - accessing data in ODBC data source

  1. #1
    Hugo Ahlenius
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    132
    Points
    10
    Answers Provided
    3


    0

    Default arcgis 10.1 - accessing data in ODBC data source

    Hi,

    I have data in an Microsoft Access database - in accdb format. In ArcGIS 10 one could create a 32-bit ODBC data source to access these tables (not spatial) in ArcMap etc, was this feature removed in ArcGIS 10.1?

    When I try to add a database connection there is no option to add an ODBC data source...
    --------------------
    Hugo Ahlenius
    Nordpil - GIS consultants

  2. #2
    Hugo Ahlenius
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    132
    Points
    10
    Answers Provided
    3


    1

    Default Re: arcgis 10.1 - accessing data in ODBC data source

    I was reading through the help page for accdb - http://resources.arcgis.com/en/help/...00000024000000 - but I can't see anywhere to "Add OLE DB Connections"...
    --------------------
    Hugo Ahlenius
    Nordpil - GIS consultants

  3. #3
    Hugo Ahlenius
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    132
    Points
    10
    Answers Provided
    3


    1
    This post is marked as the answer

    Default Re: arcgis 10.1 - accessing data in ODBC data source

    Found it - had to manually add the "Add OLE DB Connections" button to toolbar!
    --------------------
    Hugo Ahlenius
    Nordpil - GIS consultants

  4. #4
    Geoffrey Brady
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    5
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: arcgis 10.1 - accessing data in ODBC data source

    Why oh why do they keep changing stuff on us?

    Thanks for you help with the toolbar tip.

  5. #5
    Hugo Ahlenius
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    132
    Points
    10
    Answers Provided
    3


    0

    Default Re: arcgis 10.1 - accessing data in ODBC data source

    Yup, and apparently the docs need to be updated...
    --------------------
    Hugo Ahlenius
    Nordpil - GIS consultants

  6. #6
    Andrew Maracini
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    26
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: arcgis 10.1 - accessing data in ODBC data source

    OK, so I added the button, and selected the Microsoft Office 12.0 Access ...etc, in the Provider tab then click Next and it puts me tothe Connection tab, now it wants me to put in a Data Source? I've tried the putting in the path to the database, the name of the file, just the name of the server and none of it worked. What the heck am I supposed to put in there?

    My access database resides on a network drive in 2007 format

  7. #7
    Hugo Ahlenius
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    132
    Points
    10
    Answers Provided
    3


    0

    Default Re: arcgis 10.1 - accessing data in ODBC data source

    Andrew, you need to create an ODBC data source first, using the dialog in the Windows control panel. You might need to use the 32-bit dialog for Access - if you are on 64-bit windows.
    --------------------
    Hugo Ahlenius
    Nordpil - GIS consultants

  8. #8
    Bill Masters
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Unhappy Re: arcgis 10.1 - accessing data in ODBC data source

    I have a client that has just upgraded to 10.1 at the Basic license level. We've followed the directions below for adding a button to the ArcCatalog window, however when the "Customize" window pops, there is no option in the "Commands" tab for ArcCatalog. Has the functionality been removed at 10.1 for the Basic license level?

    Thanks in advance,

    Bill ...

  9. #9
    Rhonda Farris
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: arcgis 10.1 - accessing data in ODBC data source

    Quote Originally Posted by bill-masters View Post
    I have a client that has just upgraded to 10.1 at the Basic license level. We've followed the directions below for adding a button to the ArcCatalog window, however when the "Customize" window pops, there is no option in the "Commands" tab for ArcCatalog. Has the functionality been removed at 10.1 for the Basic license level?

    Thanks in advance,

    Bill ...

    Bill you have to add this button in ArcCatalog not ArcMap. Open ArcCatalog under your start menu. I had same issue.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: arcgis 10.1 - accessing data in ODBC data source

    I'm a little late to the thread but I am also trying to connect 10.1 to an Access db (.accdb). I have installed the button on the toolbar in ArcCatalog and went through the setup step using the 12.0 db engine. The connection test was successful, but the database connection never shows up in the tree. I have done this several times and cannot figure out what I am doing wrong. Any ideas?

  11. #11
    Frank Vignati
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    123
    Points
    10
    Answers Provided
    1


    0

    Default Re: arcgis 10.1 - accessing data in ODBC data source

    Quote Originally Posted by rsbarre View Post
    I'm a little late to the thread but I am also trying to connect 10.1 to an Access db (.accdb). I have installed the button on the toolbar in ArcCatalog and went through the setup step using the 12.0 db engine. The connection test was successful, but the database connection never shows up in the tree. I have done this several times and cannot figure out what I am doing wrong. Any ideas?
    refresh database connections, you should see it
    Last edited by frankv3; 05-22-2013 at 06:05 AM.

  12. #12
    Drew Dowling
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    81
    Points
    5
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: arcgis 10.1 - accessing data in ODBC data source

    Quote Originally Posted by fraxinus View Post
    Found it - had to manually add the "Add OLE DB Connections" button to toolbar!
    Thanks I was lost on this as well.
    -----
    Cheers

    Drew

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts