+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Problem rendering feature extrusion in ArcScene 10.1--one machine works, one does not

  1. #1
    Henry King
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Problem rendering feature extrusion in ArcScene 10.1--one machine works, one does not

    I am using ArcScene 10.1 to extrude a feature and am getting no results from a powerful PC while a less robust notebook is managing to extrude the feature correctly. The same version of Arc is being used on the same shapefile.

    Here is what happens with machine 1 (extrusion does not work)
    (choose 1080p to see better)

    Here is what happens with machine 2 (extrusion works)


    Attached are images presenting the characteristics of machine 1 (extrusion does not work) and machine 2 (extrusion works). As you can see, machine 1 is quite a bit superior to machine 2, but does not seem to be rendering the extrusion. The graphics card driver is extremely current.

    Does anyone else have this problem? Are there known issues with Nvidia cards? Any other settings I should try to adjust (I believe most of the settings are exactly the same and are the default settings in ArcScene)?

    Thanks in advance
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	machine1.png‎
Views:	51
Size:	325.8 KB
ID:	18100   Click image for larger version

Name:	machine2.png‎
Views:	43
Size:	262.5 KB
ID:	18101  

  2. #2
    Jeff Swain

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    749
    Points
    184
    Answers Provided
    21


    0

    Default Re: Problem rendering feature extrusion in ArcScene 10.1--one machine works, one does

    You show the coordinate system for the layers, but not the scenes. In general, it has been the opposite that I have seen with regards to video cards. The Nvidia cards seem to not have issues, where as some of the AMD/ATI cards do. I would be curious to see if you have any vertical exaggeration set and what the coordinate system of each scene is. The coordinate system of your layer is meters based, so your coordinate system should be as well.
    Esri Education Specialist
    Esri Certified ArcGIS Desktop Professional
    Training Services
    Esri Training | ArcGIS Ideas

  3. #3
    Henry King
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Problem rendering feature extrusion in ArcScene 10.1--one machine works, one does

    Hi jbswain,

    Thanks for the response.

    There is no vertical exaggeration.

    It's the only layer in the scene, so I assumed it would default to the layer's coordinate system. This seems to be the case (see below). In any case, it is the exact same shapefile on both machines, so I find it curious that one manages the extrusion while the other does not.

    I have tried this on many other shapefiles that come from different sources and have different native coordinate systems. The results are the same.

    Any ideas?

    SCENE
    WKID: 2193 Authority: EPSG

    Projection: Transverse_Mercator
    False_Easting: 1600000.0
    False_Northing: 10000000.0
    Central_Meridian: 173.0
    Scale_Factor: 0.9996
    Latitude_Of_Origin: 0.0
    Linear Unit: Meter (1.0)

    Geographic Coordinate System: GCS_NZGD_2000
    Angular Unit: Degree (0.0174532925199433)
    Prime Meridian: Greenwich (0.0)
    Datum: D_NZGD_2000
    Spheroid: GRS_1980
    Semimajor Axis: 6378137.0
    Semiminor Axis: 6356752.314140356
    Inverse Flattening: 298.257222101


    LAYER
    Data Type: Shapefile Feature Class
    Shapefile: C:\Users\X
    Geometry Type: Polygon
    Coordinates have Z values: No
    Coordinates have measures: No

    Projected Coordinate System: NZGD_2000_New_Zealand_Transverse_Mercator
    Projection: Transverse_Mercator
    False_Easting: 1600000.00000000
    False_Northing: 10000000.00000000
    Central_Meridian: 173.00000000
    Scale_Factor: 0.99960000
    Latitude_Of_Origin: 0.00000000
    Linear Unit: Meter

    Geographic Coordinate System: GCS_NZGD_2000
    Datum: D_NZGD_2000
    Prime Meridian: Greenwich
    Angular Unit: Degree


    Quote Originally Posted by jbswain View Post
    You show the coordinate system for the layers, but not the scenes. In general, it has been the opposite that I have seen with regards to video cards. The Nvidia cards seem to not have issues, where as some of the AMD/ATI cards do. I would be curious to see if you have any vertical exaggeration set and what the coordinate system of each scene is. The coordinate system of your layer is meters based, so your coordinate system should be as well.

  4. #4
    Jeff Swain

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    749
    Points
    184
    Answers Provided
    21


    0

    Default Re: Problem rendering feature extrusion in ArcScene 10.1--one machine works, one does

    On the one that works, can you use the Layer to 3d Feature Class tool to create a multipatch and see if the multipatch will display on the 'bad' computer? If the video card will not even display that feature than the issue may be the video card. If it will display it then there has to be an issue with the setup or confusion between the coordinate system and layer.
    Esri Education Specialist
    Esri Certified ArcGIS Desktop Professional
    Training Services
    Esri Training | ArcGIS Ideas

  5. #5
    Henry King
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Problem rendering feature extrusion in ArcScene 10.1--one machine works, one does

    The multipatch rendered perfectly on the "bad" machine. I tried again to add 3 different shapefiles, all with different coordinate systems, opening a new session each time so that the scene coordinate system matched the layer coordinate system when I added it each time. Still no extrusion on any of them.

    What sort of issue could there be with the setup or confusion between the coordinate system and layer? I think all of the default settings should be the same on both machines. I can't remember changing anything. What sorts of things can I check?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Jeff Swain

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    749
    Points
    184
    Answers Provided
    21


    0

    Default Re: Problem rendering feature extrusion in ArcScene 10.1--one machine works, one does

    When you select the extrusion, are you selecting the minimum height? Or are you selecting the Base heights? Could that option have changed without notice?
    Esri Education Specialist
    Esri Certified ArcGIS Desktop Professional
    Training Services
    Esri Training | ArcGIS Ideas

  7. #7
    Henry King
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Problem rendering feature extrusion in ArcScene 10.1--one machine works, one does

    I have been using minimum height. I have checked that all the ArcScene options settings are identical, the Scene properties are identical and the layer properties are identical. I have also uninstalled all of Arc and reinstalled it once with the same result.

    I'm not sure what else to try

    It's really a pain because the chip speed on the machine that does work is inadequate for regular work on larger files whereas the faster machine would handle them much easier.

    Thanks.

    Quote Originally Posted by jbswain View Post
    When you select the extrusion, are you selecting the minimum height? Or are you selecting the Base heights? Could that option have changed without notice?

  8. #8
    Jeff Swain

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    749
    Points
    184
    Answers Provided
    21


    0

    Default Re: Problem rendering feature extrusion in ArcScene 10.1--one machine works, one does

    I would encourage you to create an Esri Support incident in order to have someone take a look at your file and sxd directly. The only other test that I can think of is if you try ArcGlobe, will the extrusion still not work on the problematic machine.
    Esri Education Specialist
    Esri Certified ArcGIS Desktop Professional
    Training Services
    Esri Training | ArcGIS Ideas

  9. #9
    Henry King
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Problem rendering feature extrusion in ArcScene 10.1--one machine works, one does

    It also doesn't work in ArcGlobe. How can I create a support incident?

    Quote Originally Posted by jbswain View Post
    I would encourage you to create an Esri Support incident in order to have someone take a look at your file and sxd directly. The only other test that I can think of is if you try ArcGlobe, will the extrusion still not work on the problematic machine.

  10. #10
    Jeff Swain

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    749
    Points
    184
    Answers Provided
    21


    0

    Default Re: Problem rendering feature extrusion in ArcScene 10.1--one machine works, one does

    You can use this address http://support.esri.com/en/ and then login with your customer number. You can then use the webform to create an incident or call in to 1.888.377.4575 and use your customer number there.
    Esri Education Specialist
    Esri Certified ArcGIS Desktop Professional
    Training Services
    Esri Training | ArcGIS Ideas

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts