+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Update Domain

  1. #1
    Amanda O'Shea
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Update Domain

    I am getting the following message: Failed to update one of the domains. Must be the owner to perform this operation. I am logged in as the data owner. I have also tried as the sde user and get the same message. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    jay thyen
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Update Domain

    Has this been resolved? I'm receiving the same error (with ArcSDE 10). The only "fix" I could find was for ArcSDE 9.1 and older, and it fixes the owner column of the GDB_Domains table in SQL (which is not very helpful with the newer version).

  3. #3
    Eyad Hammad
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    34
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Update Domain

    i am facing the same problem. the data-owner is not being able to modify his domains, nor any other user can. please help

  4. #4
    Jake Skinner

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,598
    Points
    1122
    Answers Provided
    178


    0

    Default Re: Update Domain

    I would double-check to make sure who the owner of the domain is. Take a look at the following link for the correct query:

    http://help.arcgis.com/en/arcgisserv...13v7000000.htm

    Note: The SQL Server query is for a repository owned by the DBO schema. If your schema is owned by SDE, you will need to update the dbo owner to sde. Ex:

    Code:
    --SQL Server
    SELECT items.Name AS "Domain Name",
     items.Definition.value('(/*/Owner)[1]','nvarchar(max)') AS "Owner"
    FROM sde.GDB_ITEMS AS items INNER JOIN sde.GDB_ITEMTYPES AS itemtypes
    ON items.Type = itemtypes.UUID
    WHERE itemtypes.Name IN ('Coded Value Domain', 'Range Domain')

  5. #5
    Eyad Hammad
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    34
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Update Domain

    thanks for the tip,

    i was unable to configure SQL to run this query though i applied all the recommendations and settings provided in the help (http://help.arcgis.com/en/arcgisserv...00001s6000000/ ). it used to be an easy thing when needing to query the domain owner .. or other similar attributes ..

  6. #6
    baohua chu
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    10
    Points
    0
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Red face Re: Update Domain

    Quote Originally Posted by JSkinn3 View Post
    I would double-check to make sure who the owner of the domain is. Take a look at the following link for the correct query:

    http://help.arcgis.com/en/arcgisserv...13v7000000.htm

    Note: The SQL Server query is for a repository owned by the DBO schema. If your schema is owned by SDE, you will need to update the dbo owner to sde. Ex:

    Code:
    --SQL Server
    SELECT items.Name AS "Domain Name",
     items.Definition.value('(/*/Owner)[1]','nvarchar(max)') AS "Owner"
    FROM sde.GDB_ITEMS AS items INNER JOIN sde.GDB_ITEMTYPES AS itemtypes
    ON items.Type = itemtypes.UUID
    WHERE itemtypes.Name IN ('Coded Value Domain', 'Range Domain')

    After execute the sql above I found the domain's owner is "ADMAG001". This is one user of SqlServer.
    The domains are created by import. All new created domain is "DBO". The new create domains can be updated and deleted.
    Can we update the owner of domain to "DBO" and then can update/delete the domains?
    If yes ,the sql is as this :
    update sde.GDB_ITEMS set items.Definition.value('(/*/Owner)[1]','nvarchar(max)') ='DBO'

  7. #7
    Randy .
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    260
    Points
    12
    Answers Provided
    0


    0

    Default Re: Update Domain

    What if the owner has left the company? Is there a way to change the owner of a domain?

  8. #8
    Tim Dine
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    73
    Points
    20
    Answers Provided
    5


    0

    Default Re: Update Domain

    I'd like to update the owner of a domain using an update query in Oracle. Does anyone have an update query for oracle which will change the Owner text node value for a given item name?

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts